#1-ness 2018.02.20


What do you think when someone says that they have unity? (Right, let’s not judge anyone… but…) I’m sure that I know some people appear to be unified, but I have to think about the people on this list. You can’t really blame me in my delay - I mean, our "United States" isn’t all that united! On a personal level, I joke about how most families are dysfunctional, but it’s true. Even on a "spiritual family" level, a place where relationships are supposed to be edifying & unifying, has its moments of friction & division.


20 "My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you.May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.


John 17:20-21

In this passage, Jesus prays for those who believe in him that all of them may be one. He wants all of us to be our own individual selves, but to also be body of believers. We are to be a group "from every tribe and language and people and nation" (Revelation 5:9) And unlike an brother- or sisterhood, or an actual family, this family is brought together by the Holy Spirit. It brings the most opposite people together, to share a common mind, purpose and love for His Word. It’s this type of unity that promotes love.