#BusyDoesn'tMeanProductive 2018.02.22



I’m the kind of guy that needs to see the results. I need to know that stuff is getting done. And "no", I don’t mean "with God’s or another person’s task list" but simply my own. I need to know that I’m getting things done. It’s in that list that I use "productivity" as a sense of accomplishment. It’s not my "god", but it does drive something in me.

But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth


Deuteronomy 8:18a


God has a purpose for each & every one of us - He wants us to be productive people. And His plan for us is t o be wealth creators, and not wealth takers. Capitalism states "What’s mine is mine, and I’m going to keep it." Communism states What’s yours is mine and I have a right to take it." But Christianity says, "What’s mine is really God’s, and I’m willing to share it."

Now, I’m no expert, nor am I saying "I know what happened" but I feel that our economic slump is suffering because there are people who are making outrageous amounts of money by not really creating anything. They haven’t created services, benefits, products or jobs - They simply made money on money. There isn’t much "God" in that. God wants us to benefits, services & protection to others. He wants us to create opportunities to help people.

When someone "commands" you to help the poor, you don’t really get any credit for it. But when you volunteer your time & efforts to help others, that builds your character. It helps you grow - becoming more productive & generous helps you to become more like Christ.