#FearIsNotFaith 2018.12.20

With everything going on in the world, fear is a common feeling. With the political mess, layoffs, natural disasters, people hurting or killing each other, no one or place seems to be safe from events that cause a person to be afraid. But as disciples, we know that fear should have no place in our lives, but how can we ignore what's going on around us?
When you think about it, there are only two paths that one can walk: faith or fear. It is impossible to trust God and not trust God. It's kind of like saying that someone can obey and disobey Him... partial obedience is disobedience. In the end, one has to ask... "which road are you travelling?"

8"But you, Israel, my servant, Jacob, whom I have chosen, you descendants of Abraham my friend,
9I took you from the ends of the earth, from its farthest corners I called you. I said, ‘You are my servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you.
10So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
11"All who rage against you will surely be ashamed and disgraced; those who oppose you will be as nothing and perish.
12Though you search for your enemies, you will not find them. Those who wage war against you will be as nothing at all.
13For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.


Isaiah 41:8-13

Many christians who read the Bible, are familiar with Isaiah 41. They may even be able to recite these verses, and yet choose to in fear. When we watch the news, seeing other's go thru hardship, how soon before we start wondering if this could have happened to us as well? When someone loses their job at work, do we ask "will I be next?" Someone dies in an accident - "could this happen to me too?" And yet, when we're n that fear, it's that type of "thinking" that places one's circumstances above our relationship to God. We also fail to realize that if the devil can get us to think like this, he has won this battle for our mind. But as difficult as it may sound, when we focus on God rather than our circumstances whatever the situation is, we win.

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.


2 Timothy 1:7

Despite what we may think during difficult times, God understands our disappointment, suffering, pain, fear and doubt. He is, and always has been, there to encourage our hearts, and help understand that He is sufficient for all our needs. When one accepts this as an absolute truth in one's life, one finds that their worrying stops...