#PrayerGuilt

I apologize for the delay in posting - We had a snowstorm hit the day after my last post, and with my interview that late morning, i was busy with clean-up and preparation. And by God's loving grace, the interview was comfortable and i didn't feel overly-nervous (it's an interview - especially when i'm unemployed - so i'm nervous enough as it is). It was an online interview, and i was the only one with my camera on - No Problem!! My staffing agency built me up so well that the interviewers shared that i "was going quick and that they need to move fast to get me"! (wow... ok!)

The job is exactly like my last job - Data Transfer - but with much more coding (which also means, more money!) My camera paid off in dividends because they could see my excitement to code, and commented on my smile (go God!!). And at the end of that 30min interview, I GOT THE JOB!!!

Never in my life have I ever gotten a job that quickly, when times were a bit tough!
Never would i have thought that I would've moved from a great paying job... to an even better paying job!!!





I knew something was up when my old job couldn't move past something (which i had thought) was so simple to fix - extending my contract. This learned wisdom is what helped me stay rooted in Him. And when my expensive & "less than 1 year old" watch slipped off the table, and horribly cracking the screen (which will cost $350 to replace), i knew that i was being tested and remembered that it was just a watch, regardless of it's price. When i have a hard time accepting something, there's always something going on in the background. (ex. people who are incredibly mad over something that shouldn't merit such frustration, difficult times, ...) I've learned that it's these times that you need to pay attention, don't take things personally, and just listen. In the case of people, they have a lot to say, but sometimes, you have to look past what they're actually saying. Through difficult times, look to your children and spouse and think of Job - it's nowhere near that bad, and you know how the story ends!


My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.


James 1:19


As grateful and happy as I am right now, i'm deathly afraid that this good news will affect how I approach God, and it's frequency. I got what I had asked for, and even better than I could ever expect, and I am grateful... and altho I am praying & thanking God for not only this, but everything else in my life, the good & the bad... the prayer times have gotten shorter... those windows have gotten more spaced out... and i feel horrible about it!

Before this opportunity, I was praying not only for a job, but also for me to not treat God as a vending machine - I don't want to go/pray to God only when I need something. This is not what i want to give God, much less what He deserves. But i haven't blogged since the interview (and great news). Prayer guilt.

But we don't need to feel guilty for this. God states that He is listening and wants to help.

"Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you."


Matthew 7:7

He wants us to call out to Him during the difficult times, when we're struggling over something personal, or something affecting a person we love... He wants us to lean upon Him, and not someone else, sex, alcohol or drugs... "our own understanding". There is nothing that these things can do except avoid the issue (and it's pain). All this does it prolong the issue, and ends up hitting you even harder, down the road. God is the only One who can do anything about your issues. Yes, he can cure illness, but He can also give you peace, love, understanding, compassion & endurance if you were to lose that person to the illness.

He also wants us to use these moments to help others. When I got divorced, i never would've imagined the number of single christian dads i've met along the way, strengthening & helping them during their difficult times... all because God helped me thru my own divorce. And the same will be said over this latest "answered prayer". Not only do i want to donate more because I can, but ask God to make a way where i can help people in my situation. Maybe even start teaching kids how to code (starting with my own son).

There's nothing wrong with being happy after an answered prayer! Just remember that if you're not praying to god, you should be sharing your A.P. with others, in whatever means possible. If you're not praying, you should be praising!