#SinWashRepeat 2018.02.03


We are all imperfect, and therefore, we sin. And we worship a God whose ready to forgive us, we just need to confess those sins to Him. And the greatest things about that is, despite what we carry after confessing, God not only forgives, but also forgets about what we confessed. He doesn't hold a grudge, or rolls His eyes when we confess our sins again. God is amazing because He is a given AND forgiving Father.

But what about those
sins that we just keep
doing? You know, the
ones we seem to always
fall into?

In Matthew 18:21, Peter asked Jesus about the frequency in forgiving others. And altho Jesus reply was a definite answer, it was more in a way of telling Peter that that number is not important, so stop counting. God's love for us is always there, even when we don't deserve it.

as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.


Psalm 103.12


God's love & forgiveness should bring us comfort, assuring us that it will never go away. King David was a great king, but also, a real sinner. Studying out David will show how God repeatedly forgives David of his sins.


Even Paul, an incredible example of servitude in the Bible. He is quite possibly the greatest human example in the New Testament (in my opinion). And yet he struggled with sin - He wrote how he was the worst of all sinners [1 Timothy 1:15]

14We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[c] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.


Romans 7:14-20


But with such a statement, he ends it with this uplifting message:

Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!
So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful nature[d] a slave to the law of sin.


Romans 7:25


The only way we won't get God's forgiveness is if we don't ask for it, or think that we don't deserve it. What about those sins in which we seem to repeat, regardless of how often we confess, or how much regret we have in our hearts? We have to remember the prayer that the tax collector said, in the parable:

But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’


Luke 18:13


In his example, we can acknowledge our sin to God, and we come to Him, realizing our need for His forgiveness. This is also the type of forgiveness that we can show towards others. This is why Jesus answer to Peter was not to be taken literally, because God always forgives us, without limits.