#SoundWavesAtTheGym 2018.02.06

With the weather getting a tad warmer, I was able to get out of bed when I woke up early yesterday, and go to the gym. And to be honest, I haven't been able to get myself out of bed and head over to the gym, in the AM, in quite some time. So I was loving the fact that I was "searching for my swole" before work even started! And with January out of the way, the gym went back to "being empty" so, even more things to be grateful for!

Now, if there are certain things that I find "difficult" in a gym - the biggest is, people who sweat and don't wipe down the machines that they use. IT'S FLU & COLD SEASON, PEOPLE!!!! C'MON!!! The second is, people who drop the weights... as if to make a point that they're lifting some serious ton-age, bruh! And lastly, people who grunt or exaggerate their breathing when they work out... that deserves a serious "really?"

Don't get me wrong - I'm learning patience & understanding... trying not to judge, but to 'meet' people where they are... But then, there are times where some things need to be said.

Like I said, the gym was practically empty, (and it's a small gym to begin with, in comparison to others), one trainer working with a client, and about 6 others working out. It was leg day, and i've never been a fan of leg day. And this young kid comes in and starts doing deadlifts.


Like I said, I try to just pay attention to my own workout, but since I don't have earbuds for my phone, I find it extremely difficult to block out each SLAM! of his deadlift, as he drops the barbell to the floor! Each. And. Ever. Time.

I tried, trust me, to ask Jesus for help, to just focus on my leg extension\leg curl superset, but each drop he did, caused the plates on his dumbbell to RESONATE throughout the gym... But he was probably clueless bc he had his headphones on... Lucky him!


But my chances with acceptance dwindled immediately when my next workout required me to workout next to him. Two sets in, I had to say something. At first, I was gonna say something like,
"HEY!!! You think you could
simply let the barbell go once
you get it off the floor?!?! It
might make even more noise!!"

"Old Cecil" would've taken this route. But I've been trying for 9yrs to not be "him" so... I calmly walked up to him, and after saying "excuse me" 4 times, because that's how loud his headphones were (no joke), I asked him if he could control his "down" on his deadlift bc it's extremely loud. He said that he would try but that it's hard because it's a lot of weight. ("Old cecil" would've said "well, maybe you ain't ready for this type of weight, bruh!" but.. He's long gone so...) What's funny was, you could hear "Thank you!" from another person working out, but the kid did control his "down" so... SUCCESS!


We all know that not saying anything, builds frustration, and frustration will turn into anger or resentment. And when you 'pop' (and we all pop), it just turns worse. "Old Cecil" is out for a reason - his choices weren't always the smartest, or the best. But it took some time (and calm) before I (lovingly) confronted this kid. I knew that my initial response was no good, so I had to draw up a more calm, mature and least-offensive approach.

Confrontation is not an issue with me - but lovingly confronting someone is new territory. We need to keep 3 points in mind, if we want our message to get through.

Say It Tactfully
You’re never persuasive when you’re abrasive. (You'd think I'd know this and yet...) If you say it offensively, then it will be received defensively. But the more pleasant your words, the more persuasive you’ll be.

Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city.


Proverbs 16:21


Say It Lovingly
Truth isn't used as a weapon. You say truth in a loving way. And how do you know if you’re saying it in a loving way? When it’s for their benefit, not yours.

As a fair exchange—I speak as to my children—open wide your hearts also.


2 Corinthians 6:13


Say It Gently
Being gentle means being aware of how talk to someone. I means showing humility. Maybe you even qualify your approach: "I may be totally wrong about this, but . . ." or "I’m certainly not perfect. I’ve got a lot of problems in my life." Don’t come in as the "know-it-all". Gently state how we all need help at some point, and express your love and concern for the person.


Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted.


Galatians 6:1



In the end, think of the times when you responded to a rebuke or confrontation. What did the people who confronted you do, where you ended up listening and understanding? Which of these does not come easily to you?
  • being tactful
  • being loving
  • being gentle
Pray to God to help you specifically in that area.