#Unburdened 2018.07.22

I am finding that God is trying to teach me something where:
  1. I seriously need to learn\grow in\become stronger with
  2. I am not putting enough faith in Him as I think I am
  3. My attempts are not bringing me the joy\happiness in this situation

When I got baptized, a public declaration was made thru two sub-directives:
  1. Jesus is my Lord
  2. My life is no longer my own
You either "understand" this or you don’t. For the ones who are familiar with God, this is an incredible thing - "He is the Way". But for those who may not know Him, this is an act of lunacy. And that’s ok - I see my walk w\God as "incredible" and He has helped me in ways that I have never seen before throughout my entire life - that is something no person, word or whatever, can ever take away from me. But in return, I am to "leave behind" what made me "me" - I had to leave "myself" behind.

God asked (and has patiently waited for) me to leave my habits, my issues, my sarcasm (and that’s a lot), my hurt, my definition of happiness, my desire to "solve the problem", my expectations… He’s asked my to leave it all behind. Along with asking me to leave everything behind, He has made it clear that I am not alone or unprotected. You see, everything about us is a culmination of life, experience, joy, hurt, wisdom, happiness - We are the person we are because of what we’ve gone thru. Where some of that is good… some of the things that make us up, aren’t so hot.

So I can sit here and complain about being a 47yr old single dad, trying to get my BMI under 20%, cordoned off with "emotional caution tape"… Altho I have God, I feel alone at times… Altho I have hope, I feel tired as well.

But what about Jesus?

What Jesus left behind is more astonishing , when you think of what He didn’t leave:
  • No wife or child
  • No house
  • No clothes
  • No money
  • No business
  • No writings (that He wrote Himself)
  • No portraits
  • No confirmed gravesite
He left so small a physical footprint, that the world thinks that He never existed! The only thing He had left behind were his followers, God’s Word, and people who witnessed (and therefore, believed) His gospel. And yet, all of this has changed the course of history.

Everything passes away: me, my future wife, my son *sniff* and spouse & children, the gym I currently go to… and the issues that I carry. And for the world, rulers, nations, species, industries, possessions, IRS’s & 401k’s, heirlooms & photos, schools & degrees, wigs & hair extensions - everything that we cherish, will pass away over time.

Everything, except Jesus and His church.

Matthew 24:35

When you read about Jesus’ priorities & legacy, ask yourself, "what are mine?" Which investments are you placing your time\interest\efforts into? Something that will pass away in time, or into something that will last? What will your legacy reveal as to what mattered most to you?