#Yeah,IGotThis...2018.07.24

One of my biggest issues is vengeance. From people who do me wrong, to people who people who have 15 items in a "12 item or less" checkout lane…
Look, it’s not pretty and I’m not proud of it, but I’m just being real…
I can’t tell you where this overdeveloped need for vengeance came from, but I’m sure that it has something to do with my insecurities, and that only makes matters worse. And, although when something happens, like someone cuts me off In the car, or I have some "not so pleasant" interaction with someone whose obviously upset over something, I’ve learned to say "OK God… I’m leaving that to you". Granted, it’s not the "open thoust arms and embrace their broken selves with love", my new response is better than "sinking to their level" or making matters worse.

But old habits die hard. I can still stew for some time over matters that stand out in my mind… hurtful or confusing situations… I become instated with this juvenile need for justice… I’ve blogged about this in the past. It’s ugly, and a waste of time & energy.

But I know what you’re going to say! One of the first things that I had learned when I became a disciple is, vengeance is God’s. No matter what’s happened, I have no right for vengeance - it’s all in God’s Hands. So… YES!!! It’s His.. and yet, I still struggle with "expecting justice"… it’s a confusing, pointless and never-ending cycle.

So… what does a disciple do about a topic such as this? One that is obviously a cross to bear? BLOG ABOUT IT!!! (And study it out to an extensive level)

The first thing to look at is, where is this "need for vengeance" coming from? "Revenge" and "bitterness" are not fruits of the spirit, so whats the deal with them? It’s a quick "impulse" reaction, however incorrect it is. The problem is, it’s an impulse that’s not entirely wrong. In many cases, we have been justifiably wronged, and it’s not entirely wrong to feel that there must be justice.The problem is... feeling like we must make something happen, and us feeling bitter until it does.

But how does one seek "forgiveness over anger'? We're all familiar with the following scriptures:
"Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you." - Ephesians 4:32
and
"But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins." - Matthew 6:15
but what if this doesn't convince us to forgive? We're then told that our salvation is at risk...
"great! I don't know how to move on, and now I'm heading to Hell!"

I'm sure that for most of us, when we're "stuck" in a situation similar to this, we don't want to remain angry/vengeful/bitter. And yet, we don't know how to "let go/move on". I'm sure that we all want to, but getting there requires so many unknown steps.